Skip to content

Twenty-three graduates walked across the stage in the Everest high school gymnasium on Sunday, May 19, 2024, for one final time. This group was a smaller, but powerful force in the history of EC. Many of them attended Everest since elementary school. This group was unable to travel to the Holy Land due to ongoing strife, but they made lasting and impactful memories on their trip to Barcelona and Lourdes. Headmaster Gregory Reichert urged the group to remember the importance of prayer as they set out. Dr. Jeffrey Thewes gave the commencement address. The student speakers, both valedictorians and Integer award recipients, shared gratitude as well as lessons learned. Valedictorian Ravi Iyer reflected on God’s plans versus his plans. Valedictorian Caroline Beggs reflected on the gift of the Mountaineer community. Integer Kathleen Thibodeau expressed gratitude in her speech, concluding: “That is what I am most grateful for today, the faith that Everest has instilled in me. It is something I am proud of as it gives me hope for the future and understanding that suffering has a purposes, and in the end, it can lead to a beautiful result.” Integer Jacob Sasak encouraged his peers to transform the sadness of endings into hope for the future. “We should take all that we have gained at Everest and go off into the world as joyful disciplines, living holy lives. This, as Christ says, will set the world ablaze.” Prior to the ceremony’s conclusion, salutatorians Donghwan Won and Eve Herrgott led the graduates in the ceremonial turning of the tassel.

Senior awards were given the Thursday prior to graduation at senior honors night at Venue One Eleven. Award recipients included:

  • Fine Arts Award: Emily Howe and Donghwan Won
  • Leadership Award: Lucille Thewes and Joseph Milosch
  • Peer Apostle Award: Caroline Beggs and Jacob Sasak
  • St. Agnes Award: Kathleen Thibodeau
  • St. Paul Award: Jacob Sasak
  • Salutatorian: Eve Herrgott and Donghwan Won
  • Valedictorian: Caroline Beggs and Ravi Iyer
  • Integer Award: Kathleen Thibodeau and Jacob Sasak