EC student Shane Dolan is one of eight athletes who has been named to the Michigan High School Athletic Association’s Student Advisory Council. The students will be juniors at their schools during the 2017-18 academic year.

The Student Advisory Council is a 16-member group which provides feedback on issues impacting educational athletics from a student’s perspective, and also is involved in the operation of Association championship events and other programming. Members of the Student Advisory Council serve for two years, beginning as juniors. Eight new members are selected annually to serve on the SAC, with nominations made by MHSAA member schools. The incoming juniors will join the group of eight seniors-to-be appointed a year ago.

Other juniors-to-be selected for the council with Shane are: Neil Bazaj, Ann Arbor Greenhills; Megan Corbe, St. Joseph; Chloe Idoni, Fenton; William Jontz, Brighton; Pierce Morrissey, Big Rapids; and Abigail Nelson, Negaunee. The new additions will join class of 2018 members selected a year ago: Sydney Hanson, Alma; Jordan Tirico, Ann Arbor Skyline; Danny deForest, Holland West Ottawa; Darby Dean, Lowell; Rachel Cummings, Mayville; Grace Reetz, Mount Pleasant Sacred Heart; Aaron Fahmer, Owendale-Gagetown; and Hunter Gandee, Temperance Bedford.

The first Student Advisory Council was formed for the 2006-07 school year.  The council meets seven times each school year, and once more for a 24-hour leadership camp. In addition to assisting in the promotion of the educational value of interscholastic athletics, the council discusses issues dealing with scholarship, sportsmanship, safety (including health and nutrition), the sensible scope of athletic programs, and student leadership.